Irish Grand National 2024: Results, Runners & Prize Money

We had an all-Irish affair in 2024, with no runners from British yards making the trip over the Irish Sea. Hot on the heels of another hugely successful Cheltenham Festival, where he recorded his 100th Festival success, Willie Mullins sent three in pursuit of the prize, having plundered the pot with I Am Maximus in 2023. Flying the Closutton flag this time were topweight Minella Cocooner, the lightly-weighted We’llhavewan, and the unexposed favourite, Nick Rockett, who was making only his fourth start over fences.

Gordon Elliott was arriving well and truly mob-handed, throwing six darts at the prize, headed by Grade 2 winner Favori De Champdou and Grand National Trial winner Where It All Began. Others prominent in the market included Haydock Grand National Trial winner Yeah Man, from the yard of Gavin Cromwell, Any Second Now, who had twice finished placed in the Aintree equivalent, and the striking grey, Intense Raffles, who was a perfect two from two since joining the Thomas Gibney yard.


  • 1st – Intense Raffles 13/2, Jockey: J J Slevin, Trainer: Thomas Gibney
  • 2nd – Any Second Now 14/1, Jockey: Mark Walsh, Trainer: Ted Walsh
  • 3rd – Minella Cocooner 20/1, Jockey: Danny Mullins, Trainer: Willie Mullins
  • 4th – Frontal Assault 25/1, Jockey: Carl Millar, Trainer: Gordon Elliott

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – €270,000
  • 2nd – €95,000
  • 3rd – €45,000
  • 4th – €20,000
  • 5th – €10,000
  • 6th – €5,000
  • 7th – €2,500
  • 8th – €2,500

Tote and Forecast Payouts

  • Tote Win – €7.90
  • Tote Places – 1st – €2.20, 2nd – €3.30, 3rd – €4.50
  • Exacta – €117.10
  • Computer Straight Forecast (CSF) – €90.82
  • Trifecta – €2,479.70
  • Tricast – €1,787.82


The heavy ground on the day made for a particularly gruelling edition of the great race, with only 10 of the 20 starters completing the course. Thankfully there was just the one faller and a single unseat, but eight others were pulled up as their stamina ran dry in truly testing conditions.

Gordon Elliott’s Frontal Assault seemed intent on living up to his name, with the Gigginstown runner jostling for the lead early and setting the pace by the time the field reached the second fence. We’llhavewan and the Fairyhouse specialist Where’s Frankie sat just off him, as a gap of around 10 lengths quickly opened up between the leader and Good Time Johnny, who was held up out the back.

There was little change in the order for much of the first circuit as Frontal Assault continued to jump nicely out in front. Where’s Frankie sat handy, with the notable mover being the easy to spot grey, Intense Raffles, who had been bustled forward and was saving every inch of ground tight against the inside rail. However, with plenty looking to be travelling well in midfield, including the well-fancied Nick Rockett and Any Second Now, the race remained very open.

Things were not as open as they seemed though and heading into the back straight second time around, the conditions began to take a toll on many. The likes of Where’s Frankie, who wilted quickly eight from home, Dunboyne, who was ridden along from an early stage, and 2023 Pertemps winner, Good Time Jonny, who never really looked like getting into the race, dropped from the reckoning.

Rounding the turn for home, Frontal Assault still held the lead, but Intense Raffles had been switched to his outside and was moving ominously well despite making a hash of the fourth last. Mastering Frontal Assault at the second last, Intense Raffles was two lengths clear over the final flight and it was his race to lose.

Minella Cocooner was staying at one pace in behind, with the big threat emerging in the shape of the 12-year-old Any Second Now flying home in the straight. It was a gallant effort from the JP McManus runner, but Intense Raffles held on to score by a length and a half in the colours of Simon Munir & Isaac Souede.

This was a second win in the race for trainer and jockey – Thomas Gibney saddled Lion Na Bearnai ahead of his 2012 triumph, whilst J J Slevin partnered General Principle to success for Gordon Elliott in 2018.


  • 1. Minella Cocooner – SP: 20/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Danny Mullins
  • 2. Churchstonewarrior – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Jonathan Sweeney, Jockey: Michael O’Sullivan
  • 3. Nick Rockett – SP: 4/1F, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Paul Townend
  • 4. Favori De Champdou – SP: 14/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Danny Gilligan
  • 5. Senior Chief – SP: 10/1, Trainer: Henry De Bromhead, Jockey: Rachael Blackmore
  • 6. Any Second Now – SP: 14/1, Trainer: Ted Walsh, Jockey: Mark Walsh
  • 7. Intense Raffles – SP: 13/2, Trainer: Thomas Gibney, Jockey: J J Slevin
  • 8. Yeah Man – SP: 8/1, Trainer: Gavin Cromwell, Jockey: Keith Donoghue
  • 9. Diol Ker – SP: 80/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Kieran Buckley
  • 10. Dunboyne – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Sam Ewing
  • 11. Hartur D’arc – SP: 20/1, Trainer: Gavin Cromwell, Jockey: Sean Flanagan
  • 12. Frontal Assault – SP: 25/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Sean Carl Millar
  • 13. Where It All Began – SP: 16/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Jack Kennedy
  • 14. Cool Survivor – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Jody McGarvey
  • 15. Good Time Jonny – SP: 10/1, Trainer: Tony Martin, Jockey: Phillip Enright
  • 16. Street Value – SP: 33/1, Trainer: J P Flavin, Jockey: Darragh O’Keeffe
  • 17. Daily Present – SP: 16/1, Trainer: Paul Nolan, Jockey: Sean O’Keeffe
  • 18. Royal Thief – Non-runner
  • 19. We’llhavwan – SP: 13/2 , Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Kieran Callaghan
  • 20. Where’s Frankie – SP: 16/1, Trainer: Karl Thornton, Jockey: Donagh Meyler
  • 21. History Of Fashion – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Pat Fahy, Jockey: Richard Condon


Royal Thief (unsuitable ground)