Irish Grand National 2023: Results, Runners & Prize Money

In what looked like a wide-open affair, it was the lightly raced Amirite from the yard of Henry De Bromhead who assumed clear favouritism on the day. Just behind the mount of Rachael Blackmore were the hat-trick-seeking Thedevilscoachman and Stumptown, who had gone down by just a neck in the Kim Muir Challenge Cup at the Cheltenham Festival.

As ever, the powerhouse Irish yards of Willie Mullins and Gordon Elliott were strongly represented. The JP McManus-owned I Am McManus looked the strongest of the Mullins trio, having caught the eye when staying on into fourth in the Brown Advisory Chase at Cheltenham. Elliott, meanwhile, sent six from his Longwood operation, including The Goffer, Chemical Energy, and Gevrey, who had all run well at Cheltenham on their previous start. Venetia Williams Royal Pagaille was the sole British raider in the field and brought strong form to the table, having finished sixth in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.


  • 1st – I Am Maximus 8/1, Jockey: Paul Townend, Trainer: Willie Mullins
  • 2nd – Gevrey 28/1, Jockey: Brian Hayes, Trainer: Gordon Elliott
  • 3rd – Defi Bleu 28/1, Jockey: Gavin Brouder, Trainer: Gordon Elliott
  • 4th – Dolcita 33/1, Jockey: Danny Mullins, Trainer: Willie Mullins

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – €270,000
  • 2nd – €95,000
  • 3rd – €45,000
  • 4th – €20,000
  • 5th – €10,000
  • 6th – €5,000

Tote and Forecast Payouts

  • Tote Win – €7.50
  • Tote Places – 1st – €2.10, 2nd – €7.60, 3rd – €6.50
  • Exacta – €287.50
  • Computer Straight Forecast (CSF) – €225.29
  • Trifecta – €10,353.90
  • Tricast – €6,010.64


This proved to be an eventful edition of the race, with only six of the starting field of 27 managing to complete the course. The relentless gallop saw no fewer than 18 horses pulled up by their riders as their stamina gave way.

Joseph O’Brien’s Fire Attack was the first to take the field along, joined by Busselton up the inside and Panda Boy to the outer. Moving into the back straight, it became an all-Gigginstown affair on the front end, as Fire Attack was joined by Defi Bleu and Farceur Du Large. Favourite Amirite settled in midfield, whilst Paul Townend seemed content to play a waiting game towards the back of the field aboard I Am Maximus.

Very little change as they moved into the second circuit, with all 27 runners still in the race as they reached the uphill section of the back straight. However, it was at this stage that many began to feel the pinch, with a clutch of runners brought to a halt by their riders between the 15th and 19th obstacles – including market leader Amirite.

With Fire Attack falling six out, it was left to Defi Bleu to lead the remaining runners into the home straight. The Willie Mullins runner Dolcita was his closest pursuer, with Gevrey and I Am Maximus making eye-catching headway from out of the pack. Two from home, Gevrey began to find his stride and looked the likely winner over the last. However, Paul Townend had timed his challenge to perfection, overhauling Gevrey close home to score by a length, with the tough Defi Bleu back in third.

It was only a second win in the race for the most successful Irish trainer of the modern era, following the 2019 success of Burrows Saint. For Paul Townend, this was a first Irish Grand National victory.


  • 1. Royale Pagaille – SP: 10/1, Trainer: Venetia Williams, Jockey: Charlie Deutsch
  • 2. Espanito Bello – SP: 22/1, Trainer: Barry Connell, Jockey: Michael O’Sullivan
  • 3. Busselton – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Joseph O’Brien, Jockey: Shane Fitzgerald
  • 4. I Am Maximus – SP: 8/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Paul Townend
  • 5. Chemical Energy – SP: 16/1, Trainer: Gordan Elliott, Jockey: Keith Donoghue
  • 6. The Goffer – SP: 22/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Denis O’Regan
  • 7. Thedevilscoachman – SP: 7/1, Trainer: Noel Meade, Jockey: Mark Walsh
  • 8. Ash Tree Meadow – Non-runner
  • 9. Fire Attack – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Joseph O’Brien, Jockey: Richard Deegan
  • 10. Max Flamingo – SP: 25/1, Trainer: Francis Casey, Jockey: Conor Maxwell
  • 11. Dolcita – SP: 33/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Sean Danny Mullins
  • 12. Lieutenant Command – Non-runner
  • 13. Tenzing – SP: 20/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Sean O’Keeffe
  • 14. Panda Boy – SP: 14/1, Trainer: Martin Brassil, Jockey: Ricky Doyle
  • 15. Amirite – SP: 11/2F, Trainer: Henry De Bromhead, Jockey: Rachael Blackmore
  • 16. Angels Dawn – SP: 9/1, Trainer: Sam Curling, Jockey: Phillip Enright
  • 17. Fairyhill Run – SP: 80/1, Trainer: John Patrick Ryan, Jockey: Mike O’Connor
  • 18. Punitive – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Corey McGivern
  • 19. Real Steel – SP: 33/1 , Trainer: Eric McNamara, Jockey: Conor McNamara
  • 20. Defi Bleu – SP: 28/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Gavin Brouder
  • 21. Birchdale – SP: 80/1, Trainer: Enda Bolger, Jockey: Aidan Kelly
  • 22. Champagne Platinum – SP: 20/1, Trainer: Enda Bolger, Jockey: Simon Torrens
  • 23. Farceur Du Large – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Noel Meade, Jockey: G B Noonan
  • 24. Now Where Or When – SP: 20/1, Trainer: Stuart Crawfore, Jockey: Peter Carberry
  • 25. Donkey Years – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Eric McNamara, Jockey: Mark McDonagh
  • 26. Gevrey – SP: 28/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Brian Hayes
  • 27. Milan Native – SP: 80/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Charlie O’Dwyer
  • 28. Must Be Obeyed – SP: 16/1, Trainer: Thomas Gibney, Jockey: Darragh O’Keeffe
  • 29. Stumptown – SP: 15/2, Trainer: Gavin Cromwel;, Jockey: Luke Dempsey
  • 30. Fakiera – Non-runner

Non Runners

Ash Tree Meadow (lame), Fakiera (unsuitable ground), Lieutenant Command (unsuitable ground)