1000 Guineas Winners By Year

The 1000 Guineas is one of the five Classics of British racing on the flat and is held at Newmarket as a feature of the Guineas Festival in late April or early May. It is run over a distance of one mile, on the venue’s Rowley Mile course. First contested way back in 1814, it takes place on Sunday, a day after the first Classic of the season, the 2000 Guineas, which pre-dates this by five years. With a first prize approaching £300,000, it is not just history and prestige that attract the best in the business though.

The contest is open to fillies only and, like all the Classics, only those aged three – the so-called “Classic generation”. Fillies who take part may also attempt to go for the Oaks, another Classic that takes place later in the season. The most recent horse to do the double was Love in 2020, whilst other famous winners of this race include Minding (who also did the double) and 2018 victor Billesdon Brook, who was priced at 66/1 for her victory!


  • 1st - Elmalka 28/1, Jockey: Silvestre De Sousa, Trainer: Roger Varian
  • 2nd - Porta Fortuna 11/1, Jockey: Tom Marquand, Trainer: Donnacha O’Brien
  • 3rd - Ramatuelle 9/2, Jockey: Aurelien Lemaitre, Trainer: Christopher Head


  • 1st - Mawj 9/1, Jockey: Osin Murphy, Trainer: Saeed bin Suroor
  • 2nd - Tahiyra 6/4F, Jockey: Chris Hayes, Trainer: Dermot Weld
  • 3rd - Matilda Picotte 33/1, Jockey: Ronan Whelan, Trainer: Kieran Cotter


  • 1st - Cachet 16/1, Jockey: James Doyle, Trainer: George Boughey
  • 2nd - Prosperous Voyage 33/1, Jockey: Rob Hornby, Trainer: Ralph Beckett
  • 3rd - Tuesday 4/1, Jockey: Frankie Dettori, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien


  • 1st - Mother Earth 10/1, Jockey: Frankie Dettori, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien
  • 2nd - Saffron Beach 9/1, Jockey: Adam Kirby, Trainer: Jane Chapple-Hyam
  • 3rd - Fev Rover 22/1, Jockey: Paul Hanagan, Trainer: Richard Fahey


  • 1st - Love 4/1, Jockey: Ryan Moore, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien
  • 2nd - Cloak Of Spirits 12/1, Jockey: Andrea Atzeni, Trainer: Richard Hannon
  • 3rd - Quadrilateral 11/4F, Jockey: Jason Watson, Trainer: Roger Charlton


  • 1st - Hermosa (IRE) 14/1, Jockey: Wayne Lordan, Trainer: A P O'Brien
  • 2nd - Lady Kaya (IRE) 11/1, Jockey: Robbie Colgan, Trainer: Ms Sheila Lavery
  • 3rd - Qabala (USA) 7/2F, Jockey: David Egan, Trainer: Roger Varian


  • 1st - Billesdon Brook 66/1, Jockey: Sean Levey, Trainer: Richard Hannon
  • 2nd - Laurens (FR) 7/1, Jockey: P J McDonald, Trainer: Karl R. Burke
  • 3rd - Happily (IRE) 11/4F, Jockey: Ryan Moore, Trainer: A P O'Brien


  • 1st - Winter (IRE) 9/1, Jockey: Wayne Lordan, Trainer: A P O'Brien
  • 2nd - Rhododendron (FR) 5/4F, Jockey: Ryan Moore, Trainer: A P O'Brien
  • 3rd - Daban (IRE) 5/1, Jockey: Frankie Dettori, Trainer: John Gosden


  • 1st - Minding (IRE) 11/10F, Jockey: Ryan Moore, Trainer: A P O'Brien
  • 2nd - Ballydoyle (FR) 15/2, Jockey: Seamie Heffernan, Trainer: A P O'Brien
  • 3rd - Alice Springs (IRE) 16/1, Jockey: Colm O'Donoghue, Trainer: A P O'Brien


  • 1st - Legatissimo (IRE) 13/2, Jockey: Ryan Moore, Trainer: David Wachman
  • 2nd - Lucida (IRE) 9/2F, Jockey: Kevin Manning, Trainer: James S. Bolger
  • 3rd - Tiggy Wiggy (IRE) 9/1, Jockey: Richard Hughes, Trainer: Richard Hannon


  • 1st - Miss France (IRE) 7/1, Jockey: Maxine Guyon, Trainer: Andre Fabre
  • 2nd - Lightning Thunder 14/1, Jockey: Harry Bentley, Trainer: Olly Stevens
  • 3rd - Ihtimal (IRE) 7/1, Jockey: Silvestre De Sousa, Trainer: Saeed bin Suroor