Scottish Grand National Winners By Year

The Scottish Grand National is held at Ayr Racecourse and is a Grade 3 steeplechase. It is the Scottish equivalent of the Grand National and is one of the biggest races of the year north of the border. It cannot match its Aintree namesake in terms of prize money, prestige or global coverage but it certainly provides horses and jockeys with a major test.

Run over four miles it dates back to 1867 and sees horses contend with 27 fences. Held as part of a two-day meeting at Ayr it usually takes place in April, typically a week after the big one at Aintree in modern times. It is open to horses aged five and older and three horses, Couvrefeu II, Southern Hero and Queen’s Taste have managed to claim glory three times. In 1974 the mighty Red Rum won both the Aintree contest and the Scottish Grand National, the only horse to land both in the same year.


  • 1st - Kitty’s Light 4/1JF, Jockey: Jack Tudor, Trainer: Christian Williams
  • 2nd - Cooper’s Cross 25/1, Jockey: Sam Coltherd, Trainer: Stuart Coltherd
  • 3rd - Flash De Touzaine 40/1, Jockey: Richard Deegan, Trainer: Liz Doyle
  • 4th - Threeunderthrufive 16/1, Jockey: Adrian Heskin, Trainer: Paul Nicholls


  • 1st - Win My Wings 13/2CF, Jockey: Mr R James, Trainer: Christian Williams
  • 2nd - Kitty’s Light 13/2CF, Jockey: Jack Tudor, Trainer: Christian Williams
  • 3rd - Major Dundee 9/1, Jockey: Tom Cannon, Trainer: Alan King
  • 4th - Fidux 66/1, Jockey: Daryl Jacob, Trainer: Alan King


  • 1st - Mighty Thunder 8/1, Jockey: Tom Scudamore, Trainer: Lucinda Russell
  • 2nd - Dingo Dollar 7/1F, Jockey: Ryan Mania, Trainer: Sandy Thompson
  • 3rd - Mister Fogpatches 8/1, Jockey: Danny Mullins, Trainer: Pat Fahy
  • 4th - The Ferry Master 20/1, Jockey: Sean Quinlan, Trainer: Sandy Thomson




  • 1st - Takingrisks 25/1, Jockey: Sean Quinlan, Trainer: Nicky Richards
  • 2nd - Crosspark 10/1, Jockey: Harry Skelton, Trainer: Caroline Bailey
  • 3rd - Cloth Cap 9/1, Jockey: Richie McLernon, Trainer: Jonjo O’Neill
  • 4th - Blue Flight 25/1, Jockey: Callum Bewley, Trainer: Nigel Twiston-Davies


  • 1st - Joe Farrell (IRE) 33/1, Jockey: Adam Wedge, Trainer: Rebecca Curtis
  • 2nd - Ballyoptic (IRE) 9/1, Jockey: Tom Bellamy, Trainer: Nigel Twiston-Davies
  • 3rd - Vintage Clouds (IRE) 12/1, Jockey: Danny Cook, Trainer: Sue Smith


  • 1st - Vicente (FR) 9/1J, Jockey: Sam Twiston-Davies, Trainer: Paul Nicholls
  • 2nd - Cogry 18/1, Jockey: Jamie Bargary, Trainer: Nigel Twiston-Davies
  • 3rd - Benbens (IRE) 50/1, Jockey: Mr Zac Baker, Trainer: Nigel Twiston-Davies


  • 1st - Vicente (FR) 14/1, Jockey: Sam Twiston-Davies, Trainer: Paul Nicholls
  • 2nd - Alvarado (IRE) 25/1, Jockey: Paul Moloney, Trainer: Fergal O'Brien
  • 3rd - Seeyouatmidnight 14/1, Jockey: Steven Fox, Trainer: Sandy Thomson


  • 1st - Wayward Prince 25/1, Jockey: Robert Dunne, Trainer: Hilary Parrott
  • 2nd - Goonyella (IRE) 16/1, Jockey: Jonathan Burke, Trainer: J T R Dreaper
  • 3rd - Benbens (IRE) 33/1, Jockey: Jamie Bargary, Trainer: Nigel Twiston-Davies


  • 1st - Al Co (FR) 40/1, Jockey: Jamie Moore, Trainer: Peter Bowen
  • 2nd - Godsmejudge (IRE) 16/1, Jockey: Aidan Coleman, Trainer: Alan King
  • 3rd - Trustan Times (IRE) 10/1, Jockey: Wilson Renwick, Trainer: Tim Easterby