Irish Grand National 2022: Results, Runners & Prize Money

As ever, the 150th renewal of the Easter Monday showpiece looked to be a hugely competitive affair. Willie Mullins sent two in pursuit of the prize in the shape of Franco De Port and Gaillard Du Mesnil, with the latter proving all the rage with punters following his third-place finish in the Brown Advisory Plate at the Cheltenham Festival. Gordon Elliott, meanwhile, was mob-handed in the event, with no fewer than 10 of the 27-runner field hailing from his Longwood yard. Run Wild Fred was rated the most likely to prevail of the Elliott squadron, having finished second in the race in 2021.

The famous Gigginstown House Stud colours were carried by six of the runners, headed by Run Wild Fred and Farclas, who had managed a solid fifth in the 2021 Aintree Grand National. JP McManus managed to surpass even Gigginstown in entering seven for the race. Early Doors carried his first colours, but most expected 2021 Midlands Grand National champ Time To Get Up to fare best of those in the green and gold. In the end – just as in 2021 – all those famous owners and trainers would play second fiddle to an unheralded runner from a locally based trainer.


  • 1st – Lord Lariat 40/1, Jockey: Paddy O’Hanlon, Trainer: Dermot McLoughlin
  • 2nd – Frontal Assault 18/1, Jockey: Jack Kennedy, Trainer: Gordon Elliott
  • 3rd – Gaillard Du Mesnil 11/2F, Jockey: Paul Townend, Trainer: Willie Mullins
  • 4th – Screaming Colours 18/1, Jockey: Mr J J Codd, Trainer: William Durkan

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – €270,000
  • 2nd – €95,000
  • 3rd – €45,000
  • 4th – €20,000
  • 5th – €10,000
  • 6th – €5,000
  • 7th – €2,500
  • 8th – €2,500

Tote and Forecast Payouts

  • Tote Win – €42.30
  • Tote Places – 1st – €8.20, 2nd – €6.80, 3rd – €2.20
  • Exacta – €1,826.40
  • Computer Straight Forecast (CSF) – €642.57
  • Trifecta – €6,169.30
  • Tricast – €4,579.70


Dermot McLoughlin had won this with the frontrunning Freewheelin Dylan in 2021, and his sole entry in 2022 seemed keen to follow the same tactics, with Lord Lariat quickly making his way to the front. He wouldn’t get things all his own way though, with one of the Elliott battalion, Frontal Assault, assuming pace-setting duties on the first circuit. Gaillard Du Mesnila and Farclas were amongst those tracking the early leaders. Run Wild Fred’s challenge made it no further than the halfway stage as he came down at the 12th.

Little change in the order as they headed down the back straight second time around, with Death Duty and Frontal Assault providing a Gigginstown 1-2, and Lord Lariat sitting just in behind. Three from home, it was Lord Lariat who jumped to the front, with challenges emerging from the prominently ridden Gaillard Du Mesnil, and Screaming Colours from the back of the back. None could get near the 40/1 shot though, as Paddy O’Hanlon kicked clear from the last to forge ahead for success by almost five lengths.

Incredible back-to-back successes for Dermot McLaughlin following the 150/1 win of Freewheelin Dylan 12 months earlier. Young conditional jockey Paddy O’Hanlon rode only two winners at Fairyhouse during the 2021/22 season, but at least he made one of those wins a big one.


  • 1. Franco De Port – SP: 25/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Jack Foley
  • 2. Battleoverdoyen – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Mr Pat Taaffe
  • 3. Run Wild Fred – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Mr R James
  • 4. Gaillard Du Mesnil – SP: 11/2F, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Paul Townend
  • 5. Mount Ida – SP: 16/1, Trainer: Gordan Elliott, Jockey: Davy Russell
  • 6. Ronald Pump – SP: 14/1, Trainer: Matthew Smith, Jockey: Liam McKenna
  • 7. Farclas – SP: 14/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Shane Fitzgerald
  • 8. Early Doors – SP: 33/1, Trainer: Joseph O’Brien, Jockey: J J Slevin
  • 9. Enjoy D’allen – SP: 18/1, Trainer: Ciaran Murphy, Jockey: Conor Orr
  • 10. Samcro – Non-runner
  • 11. Diol Ker – SP: 25/1, Trainer: Noel Meade, Jockey: Sean Bryan Cooper
  • 12. Screaming Colours – SP: 18/1, Trainer: William Durkan, Jockey: Mr J J Codd
  • 13. Off You Go – SP: 12/1, Trainer: Charles Byrnes, Jockey: Aidan Coleman
  • 14. Death Duty – SP: 33/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Sam Ewing
  • 15. Max Flamingo – SP: 10/1, Trainer: Francis Casey, Jockey: Denis O’Regan
  • 16. Fakir D’alene – SP: 22/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Mr H C Swan
  • 17. Velvet Elvis – SP: 12/1, Trainer: Thomas Gibney, Jockey: Darragh O’Keeffe
  • 18. School Boy Hours – SP: 33/1, Trainer: Noel Meade, Jockey: Sean Flanagan
  • 19. Flouer – SP: 33/1 , Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Jordan Gainford
  • 20. Ten Ten – SP: 33/1, Trainer: Philip Dempsey, Jockey: Mark Walsh
  • 21. Lieutenant Command – Non-runner
  • 22. Aramax – SP: 80/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Luke Dempsey
  • 23. Frontal Assault – SP: 18/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Jack Kennedy
  • 24. Time To Get Up – SP: 11/1, Trainer: Jonjo O’Neill, Jockey: Robbie Power
  • 25. Champagne Platinum – SP: 33/1, Trainer: Enda Bolger, Jockey: Simon Torrens
  • 26. Full Time Score – SP: 17/2, Trainer: Henry De Bromhead, Jockey: Rachael Blackmore
  • 27. Mister Fogpatches – SP: 14/1, Trainer: Pat Fahy, Jockey: Danny Mullins
  • 28. Streets Of Doyen – Non-runner
  • 29. Lord Lariat – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Dermot McLoughlin, Jockey: Paddy O’Hanlon
  • 30. Smoking Gun – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Kevin Sexton

Non Runners

Lieutenant Command (lame), Samcro (unsuitable ground), Streets Of Doyen (unsuitable ground)