Grand National 2024: Results, Runners & Prize Money

Having long been the clear favourite for the race, the defending Grand National champion Corach Rambler was dislodged from the top of the market on the day by a pair of JP McManus-owned runners: Limerick Lace arrived on the back of success in the Mare’s Chase at the Cheltenham Festival, whilst I Am Maximus had shown a liking for this sort of test when landing the 2023 Irish Grand National.

Others proving popular in the betting included the unexposed Meetingofthewaters, fellow Irish raider Panda Boy, 2022 champ Noble Yeats, and 2023 runner-up Vanillier. The field may have been reduced to 34 runners for the first time but it remained stacked with talent, including former Gold Cup champ Minella Indo, Scottish Grand National winner Kitty’s Light, and the Grade 1 winner Delta Work, who finished third in the 2022 edition.


  • 1st – I Am Maximus 7/1J, Jockey: Paul Townend, Trainer: Willie Mullins
  • 2nd – Delta Work 28/1, Jockey: Jack Kennedy, Trainer: Gordon Elliott
  • 3rd – Minella Indo 28/1, Jockey: Rachael Blackmore, Trainer: Henry De Bromhead
  • 4th – Galvin 40/1, Jockey: Sam Ewing, Trainer: Gordon Elliott

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – £500,000
  • 2nd – £200,000
  • 3rd – £100,000
  • 4th – £65,000
  • 5th – £40,000
  • 6th – £30,000
  • 7th – £20,000
  • 8th – £15,000
  • 9th – £10,000
  • 10th – £5,000

Tote and Forecast Payouts

  • Tote Win – £8
  • Tote Places – 1st – £2.60, 2nd – £6.80, 3rd – £6.70
  • Exacta – £266.40
  • Computer Straight Forecast (CSF) – £199.42
  • Trifecta – £6,687.80
  • Tricast – £5,229.52


The reduction of the field size may not have been popular in all quarters, but in terms of the safety of the contenders, restricting the number of runners to 34 may have had the desired effect as no runners fell during the race, and the tally of 21 finishers was the highest for 19 years. The smaller field also had little impact on the entertainment value of the race, with the class coming to the fore in a cracking renewal.

There was drama at the first fence, with the defending champ Corach Rambler ploughing through the top of the obstacle and sending the unfortunate Derek Fox crashing to the turf. One fence down, and we already knew we would have a new name on the trophy in 2024. Glengouly led the field over the second, swiftly followed by Foxy Jacks and Minella Crooner

Little change as the field headed into Canal Turn for the first time. Minella Indo, Galia Des Liteux, and Eldorado Allen were among the early eyecatchers having quickly found a nice jumping rhythm. Former champ Noble Yeats and the well-fancied Limerick Lace found themselves on the back foot following early jumping errors. Mahler Mission, Stattler, and Mr Incredible all out of the race before halfway.

Moving towards the final mile, Kitty’s Light had moved into contention on the outside, with Latenightpass another to make a forward move. I Am Maximus was ridden quietly by Paul Townend and was saving ground around the inside. Eldorado Allen had the lead over Valentine’s second time but was passed by Galia Des Liteaux, who was the first to go for home.

The stamina of the Dan Skelton mare began to give way inside the final two furlongs as a pack stacked with talent kicked for the line. Minella Indo and Rachael Blackmore led into the elbow, followed by Delta Work, Kitty’s Light, and I Am Maximus. As Minella Indo, Delta Work, and Kitty’s Light plodded on at one pace, Paul Townend switched I Am Maximus into daylight up the inside, and the JP McManus gelding simply took off to leave the field trailing in his wake – scorching clear for a mightily impressive success by seven and a half lengths. Delta Work ran a gallant race in second, Minella Indo held on for third, and another Grade 1 star, Galvin, stayed on dourly for fourth to complete an all-Irish first four.

It was a second Grand National win for Willie Mullins, following the success of Hedgehunter in 2005. It was a first triumph in the Aintree showpiece for a delighted Paul Townend, however.


  • 1. Noble Yeats – SP: 12/1, Trainer: Emmet Mullins, Jockey: Harry Cobden
  • 2. Nassalam – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Gary Moore, Jockey: Caolin Quinn
  • 3. Coko Beach – SP: 28/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Jordan Gainford
  • 4. Capodano – SP: 28/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Keith Donoghue
  • 5. I Am Maximus – SP: 7/1F, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Paul Townend
  • 6. Minella Indo – SP: 28/1, Trainer: Henry De Bromhead, Jockey: Rachael Blackmore
  • 7. Corach Rambler – SP: 15/2, Trainer: Lucinda Russell, Jockey: Derek Fox
  • 8. Janidil – SP: 125/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Jody McGarvey
  • 9. Stattler – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Mr P W Mullins
  • 10. Mahler Mission – SP: 18/1, Trainer: John C McConnell, Jockey: Ben Harvey
  • 11. Delta Work – SP: 28/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Jack Kennedy
  • 12. Foxy Jacks – SP: 33/1, Trainer: Mouse Morris, Jockey: Gavin Brouder
  • 13. Galvin – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Sam Ewing
  • 14. Farouk d’Alene – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Donagh Meyler
  • 15. Eldorado Allen – SP: 66/1, Trainer: Joe Tizzard, Jockey: Brendan Powell
  • 16. Ain’t That A Shame – Trainer: Henry De Bromhead, Jockey: Mr David Maxwell
  • 17. Vanillier – SP: 14/1, Trainer: Gavin Cromwell, Jockey: Sean Flanagan
  • 18. Mr Incredible – SP: 10/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Brian Hayes
  • 19. Chambard – Non-runner
  • 20. Latenightpass – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Tom Ellis, Jockey: Miss Gina Andrews
  • 21. Minella Crooner – SP: 125/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Kevin Sexton
  • 22. Adamantly Chosen – SP: 33/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Sean O’Keeffe
  • 23. Mac Tottie – SP: 80/1, Trainer: Peter Powen, Jockey: James Bowen
  • 24. Chemical Energy – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Danny Gilligan
  • 25. Limerick Lace – SP: 7/1J, Trainer: Gavin Cromwell, Jockey: Mark Walsh
  • 26. Meetingofthewaters – SP: 11/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Danny Mullins
  • 27. The Goffer – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Gordon Elliott, Jockey: Sean Bowen
  • 28. Roi Mage – SP: 66/1, Trainer: Patrick Griffin, Jockey: James Reveley
  • 29. Glengouly – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Michael O’Sullivan
  • 30. Galia Des Liteaux – SP: 28/1, Trainer: Dan Skelton, Jockey: Harry Skelton
  • 31. Panda Boy – SP: 11/1, Trainer: Martin Brassil, Jockey: J J Slevin
  • 32. Eklat De Rire – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Henry De Bromhead, Jockey: Darragh O’Keeffe
  • 33. Run Wild Fred – Non-runner
  • 34. Kitty’s Light – SP: 12/1, Trainer: Christian Williams, Jockey: Jack Tudor


Chambard (self-certificate), Run Wild Fred (vet’s certificate)