Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe 2021: Results, Runners & Prize Money

British runners dominated the market ahead of the 2021 edition of the Longchamp showpiece. Going for Newmarket-based trainer Charlie Appleby were the dual classic heroes of Derby champ Adayar and St Leger winner Hurricane Lane, with the latter just shading favouritism ahead of his stablemate. Love was a late withdrawal for the Aidan O’Brien team, but the Ballydoyle maestro still possessed a talented filly to go to war with, in the shape of the dual Oaks queen, Snowfall. Fellow Irish handler Dermot Weld also had high hopes going into the race, with his Breeders’ Cup Turf heroine, Tarnawa, already being a dual winner at the track.

In what appeared a weak year for the home team, Jean-Claude Rouget’s Raabihah was the shortest-priced French runner in the field, having finished a decent fifth in the 2020 edition. Japan once again attempted to break their Arc hoodoo with Deep Bond and Chrono Genesis, whilst Germany were represented by the seemingly up-against-it Turquator Tasso.


  • 1st – Torquator Tasso 72/1, Jockey: Rene Piechulek, Trainer: Marcel Weiss
  • 2nd – Tarnawa 4/1, Jockey: Christophe Soumillon, Trainer: Dermot Weld
  • 3rd – Hurricane Lane 3/1F, Jockey: James Doyle, Trainer: Charlie Appleby

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – £2,550,892.86
  • 2nd – £1,020,535.71
  • 3rd – £510,267.86
  • 4th – £254,910.71
  • 5th – £127,678.57


A wave of four British runners was quickest out of the stalls, with the Godolphin duo of Hurricane Lane and Adayar being joined by Richard Hannon’s Mojo Star and Alenquer from the yard of William Haggas. The bulk of the field navigated to the far rail, with the exception of Chrono Genesis who went it alone on the opposite side of the track.

Following a steady early pace, William Buick opted to make this more of a test and urged Adayar on to make the running, followed by Broome and Chrono Genesis who had now joined the rest of the field. Torquator Tasso and Hurricane Lane were amongst those tracking the pace, with Tarnawa a couple of lengths back on the inside rail together with the fellow Irish filly, Snowfall.

Moving into the straight, Adayar appeared the one to beat, as he kicked three lengths clear of the field. However, he could not extend that advantage, and a number of those in behind were now beginning to build up a head of steam. At the furlong marker, Tarnawa, Hurricane Lane, and Torquator Tasso swept past Adayar on the outside, with Torquator Tasso showing the greatest reserves of stamina to forge three-quarters of a length clear at the line and land a huge upset.

This was by far the biggest moment in the career of both the winning jockey and trainer, and it was just a third success in the race for Germany, following the wins of Star Appeal in 1975 and Danedream in 2011.


  • 1. Torquator Tasso – SP: 72/1, Trainer: Marcel Weiss, Jockey: Rene Piechulek
  • 2. Deep Bond – SP: 23/1, Trainer: Ryuji Okubo, Jockey: Mickael Barzalona
  • 3. Broome – SP: 56/1, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Yutaka Taki
  • 4. Tarnawa – SP: 4/1, Trainer: Dermot Weld, Jockey: Christophe Soumillon
  • 5. Love – Non-runner
  • 6. Raabihah – SP: 24/1, Trainer: Jean-Claude Rouget, Jockey: Cristian Demuro
  • 7. Chrono Genesis – SP: 9/1, Trainer: Takashi Saito, Jockey: Oisin Murphy
  • 8. Mojo Star – SP: 46/1, Trainer: Richard Hannon, Jockey: Rossa Ryan
  • 9. Baby Rider – SP: 92/1, Trainer: Pascal Bary, Jockey: Ioritz Medizabal
  • 10. Adayar – SP: 18/5, Trainer: Charlie Appleby, Jockey: William Buick
  • 11. Hurricane Run – SP: 3/1F, Trainer: Charlie Appleby, Jockey: James Doyle
  • 12. Sealiway – SP: 58/1, Trainer: Cedric Rossi, Jockey: Frank Blondel
  • 13. Alenquer – SP: 22/1, Trainer: William Haggas, Jockey: Tom Marquand
  • 14. Bubble Gift – SP: 58/1, Trainer: Mikel Delzangles, Jockey: Gerald Mosse
  • 15. Snowfall – SP: 19/5, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Ryan Moore


Love (going)