Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe 2023: Results, Runners & Prize Money

The 2023 edition of Europe’s greatest and richest race once again attracted the best of the best from across the continent and beyond. Despite the extensive international challenge, the home team were responsible for the clear favourite, in the shape of Jean-Claude Rouget’s unbeaten three-year-old Ace Impact. Brilliant in the Prix du Jockey Club, could he repeat the feat, now stepping up to 1m4f for the first time?

A whole host of talented stars were lying in wait to expose any chinks in the armour of the market leader, including Aidan O’Brien’s St Leger winner, Continuous, King George first and second, Hukum and Westover, Sir Michael Stoute’s talented five-year-old Bay Bridge, and Free Wind, who provided Frankie Dettori with his final Arc ride following his announced retirement. Or perhaps this would be the year that Japan finally landed the prize; Tomohito Ozeki’s Through Seven Seas was carrying the hopes of the Far East this time.


  • 1st – Ace Impact 19/10F, Jockey: Cristian Demuro, Trainer: Jean-Claude Rouget
  • 2nd – Westover 32/5, Jockey: Rob Hornby, Trainer: Ralph Beckett
  • 3rd – Onesto 55/1, Jockey: Maxime Guyon, Trainer: Fabrice Chappet

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – £2,528,318.58
  • 2nd – £1,011,504.42
  • 3rd – £505,752.21
  • 4th – £256,654.87
  • 5th – £126,548.67


A lack of a strong pace had been a concern heading into the race, given the lack of confirmed front runners in the lineup. That fear played out once the gates opened, with none of the riders seemingly keen on making the running. In the end, a somewhat reluctant Bay Bridge led the field into the first bend, followed by Simca Mille, who had tracked over from stall 15. King George rivals Westover and Hukum secured prominent early positions, with Continuous and Ace Impact amongst those held up in the early stages.

Germany’s Mr Hollywood took up the running as they moved into the false straight, followed by the British-trained trio Hukum, Bay Bridge and Westover. There was still no move from Ace Impact or Continuous, with Japanese raider Through Seven Seas also keen to bide his time.

Given the steady early fractions, everything was set up for a sprint finish, and despite kicking first off the bend, those in the lead couldn’t live with the pace coming from behind. Westover made a bold bid for glory, hitting the front just past the three-furlong poll, but there, switched to the outside and finishing like an express train was Ace Impact. Grabbing the lead inside the final furlong, the impressive son of Cracksman came home almost two lengths clear of the gallant Westover, with the fast-finishing Onesto back in third.

A stellar display from Ace Impact, who recorded the fastest final three furlongs in the history of this great race to hand trainer Jean-Claude Rouget and jockey Cristian Demuro a second Arc success.


  • 1. Sisfahan – SP: 109/1, Trainer: Henk Grewe, Jockey: Lukas Delozier
  • 2. Haya Zark – SP: 107/1, Trainer: Adrien Fouassier, Jockey: Gerald Mosse
  • 3. Onesto – SP: 55/1, Trainer: Fabrice Chappet, Jockey: Maxime Guyon
  • 4. Simca Mille – SP: 18/1, Trainer: Stephane Wattel, Jockey: Alexis Pouchin
  • 5. Bay Bridge – SP: 13/1, Trainer: Sir Michael Stoute, Jockey: Richard Kingscote
  • 6. Westover – SP: 32/5, Trainer: Ralph Beckett, Jockey: Rob Hornby
  • 7. Hukum – SP: 11/2, Trainer: Owen Burrows, Jockey: Jim Crowley
  • 8. Place Du Carrousel – SP: 26/1, Trainer: Andre Fabre, Jockey: Mickael Barzalona
  • 9. Through Seven Seas – SP: 10/1, Trainer: Tomehito Ozeki, Jockey: Christophe-Patrice Lemaire
  • 10. Free Wind – SP: 20/1, Trainer: John & Thady Gosden, Jockey: Frankie Dettori
  • 11. Mr Hollywood – SP:43/1, Trainer: Henk Grewe, Jockey: Bauyrzhan Murzabayev
  • 12. Feed The Flame – SP: 13/1, Trainer: Pascal Bary, Jockey: Christophe Soumillon
  • 13. Ace Impact – SP: 19/10F, Trainer: Jean-Claude Rouget, Jockey: Cristian Demuro
  • 14. Fantastic Moon – SP: 12/1, Trainer: Frau S Steinberg, Jockey: Rene Piechulek
  • 15. Continuous – SP: 14/1, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Ryan Moore


All Ran