Epsom Derby 2022: Results, Runners & Prize Money

The 2022 Derby field contained a raft of potential superstars, as is almost always the case. Sir Michael Stoute’s Desert Crown had attracted significant support over the winter following a sparkling maiden success and subsequently rocketed to the head of the market following an impressive win in the Dante Stakes.

Elsewhere in the line-up, Aidan O’Brien boasted his usual strong hand, with his trio of entries headed by Leopardstown Derby Trial winner, Stone Age. The boys in blue of Godolphin came with a triple threat of their own, with the Teofilo colt Nation’s Pride deemed the most likely to prevail by the market.


  • 1st – Desert Crown 5/2F, Jockey: Richard Kingscote, Trainer: Sir Michael Stoute
  • 2nd – Hoo Ya Mal 150/1, Jockey: David Probert, Trainer: Andrew Balding
  • 3rd – Westover 25/1, Jockey: Rob Hornby, Trainer: Ralph Beckett

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – £909,628.40
  • 2nd – £344,860
  • 3rd – £172,590.40
  • 4th – £85,947.40
  • 5th – £43,147.60
  • 6th – £21,654

Tote and Forecast Payouts

  • Tote Win – £3.50
  • Tote Places – 1st – £1.55, 2nd – £17.45, 3rd – £6.40
  • Exacta – £200.50
  • Computer Straight Forecast (CSF) – £475.59
  • Trifecta – £5,120.50
  • Tricast – £7,575.29


We were given another enthralling renewal of the great race, and one which ultimately went the way the market suggested, at least in terms of the winner. It was, however, a pair of unfancied contenders who chased him home.

West Wind Blows, Star Of India, and Glory Daze were amongst those scrimmaging for the early lead, but it was Changingoftheguard who won the battle to make the running. The O’Brien runner took them along for the bulk of the race, but by the time they reached Tattenham Corner, the challengers were stacking up in behind. None was travelling better than Desert Crown, who swept past down the outside to scorch five clear, ultimately crossing the line two and a half lengths ahead of the huge outsider Hoo Ya Mal, followed by the flying Westover who faced a nightmare passage in the straight.

It was a day to remember for Richard Kingscote who bagged a first Classic success, whilst for trainer Sir Michael Stoute this was a sixth victory in Britain’s greatest flat race.


  • 1. Changingoftheguard – SP: 9/1 , Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Wayne Lordan
  • 2. Desert Crown – SP: 5/2F, Trainer: Sir Michael Stoute, Jockey: Richard Kingscote
  • 3. El Habeeb – SP: 250/1, Trainer: J S Moore, Jockey: J F Egan
  • 4. Glory Daze – SP: 66/1, Trainer: A Oliver, Jockey: Ronan Whelan
  • 5. Grand Alliance – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Charlie Fellowes, Jockey: Daniel Tudhope
  • 6. Hoo Ya Mal – SP: 150/1, Trainer: Andrew Balding, Jockey: David Probert
  • 7. Masekela – SP: 66/1, Trainer: Andrew Balding, Jockey: Andrea Atzeni
  • 8. Nahanni – SP: 25/1, Trainer: Charlie Appleby, Jockey: Adam Kirby
  • 9. Nations Pride – SP: 15/2, Trainer: Charlie Appleby, Jockey: William Buick
  • 10. Piz Badile – SP: 9/1, Trainer: Donnacha O’Brien, Jockey: Frankie Dettori
  • 11. Royal Patronage – SP: 28/1, Trainer: Charlie & Mark Johnston, Jockey: Jason Hart
  • 12. Sonny Liston – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Charles Hills, Jockey: Tom Marquand
  • 13. Star of India – SP: 16/1, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Seamie Heffernan
  • 14. Stone Age – SP: 7/2, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Ryan Moore
  • 15. Walk Of Stars – SP: 11/1, Trainer: Charlie Appleby, Jockey: James Doyle
  • 16. Westover – SP: 25/1, Trainer: Ralph Beckett, Jockey: Rob Hornby
  • 17. West Wind Blows – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Simon & Ed Crisford, Jockey: Jack Mitchell

Non Runners

All Ran