Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe 2022: Results, Runners & Prize Money

As ever, 2022 saw a cast of international superstars assemble at Longchamp for Europe’s greatest – and most valuable – flat race. Leading the charge for the home team was the Jean-Claude Rouget-trained Vadeni, who had already claimed Prix du Jockey Club and Coral-Eclipse honours earlier in the season. A strong overseas challenge included Germany’s Torquator Tasso, who had caused such a shock when winning the race in 2021, and a four-pronged Japanese attack, led by Tenno Sho and Takarazuka Kinen hero, Titleholder.

However, it was a British yard who were responsible for the clear favourite, as Sir Mark Prescott sent the eight-timer-seeking mare, Alpinista, in pursuit of the prize. Aidan O’Brien’s Irish Champion Stakes winner Luxembourg and Ralph Beckett’s Irish Derby champ Westover looked the best of the British and Irish Classic generation.


  • 1st – Alpinista 33/10F, Jockey: Luke Morris, Trainer: Sir Mark Prescott
  • 2nd – Vadeni 78/10, Jockey: Christophe Soumillon, Trainer: Jean-Claude Rouget
  • 3rd – Torquator Tasso 81/10, Jockey: Frankie Dettori, Trainer: Marcel Weiss

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – £2,400,840.34
  • 2nd – £960,504.20
  • 3rd – £480,252.10
  • 4th – £239,915.97
  • 5th – £12,168.07


As many had anticipated, it was the Japanese trailblazer Titleholder who was rousted up into the lead as the stalls opened, with Aidan O’Brien’s Broome and Jean-Claude Rouget’s second string Al Hakeem helping to force the early pace. Alpinista had secured an ideal early position just behind the pace on the inside rail, with fellow English raider, Westover, tracking her through to the outside.

The field was well strung out as they moved into the false straight, suggesting that this had been a strongly run affair. Into the home straight, defending champion Torquator Tasso began to make eye-catching headway from the back of the field, just as he had done in 2021, but nothing was travelling so well as Alpinista, who cruised up into third position, seemingly full of running.

Keen to hold onto his mount for as long as possible, Luke Morris nevertheless hit the front three furlongs out under hands and heels riding. Torquator Tasso continued to come down the outside, whilst Vadeni emerged as a threat from out of the pack. The mare was a length and a half clear inside the final 200 yards and, despite Vadeni and Torquator Tasso closing the gap, she held on to score by half a length.

It was a famous win for Sir Mark Prescott, for whom this represented the pinnacle of his career at 74 years of age, and a huge moment for Luke Morris, who made it four Group 1’s in France, compared to only two on home soil.


  • 1. Mishriff – SP: 33/1, Trainer: John & Thady Gosden, Jockey: William Buick
  • 2. Torquator Tasso – SP: 81/10, Trainer: Marcel Weiss, Jockey: Frankie Dettori
  • 3. Mare Australis – SP: 55/1, Trainer: Andre Fabre, Jockey: Bauyrzhan Murzabayev
  • 4. Sealiway – SP: 48/1, Trainer: Francis-Henri Graffard, Jockey: Mickael Barzalona
  • 5. Alenquer – SP: 66/1, Trainer: William Haggas, Jockey: Tom Marquand
  • 6. Deep Bond – SP: 52/1, Trainer: Ryuji Okubo, Jockey: Yuga Kawada
  • 7. Broome – SP: 86/1, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Wayne Lordan
  • 8. Stay Foolish – SP: 55/1, Trainer: Yoshito Yahagi, Jockey: Christophe-Patrice Lemaire
  • 9. Mostahdaf – SP: 56/1, Trainer: John & Thady Gosden, Jockey: Jim Crowley
  • 10. Mendocino – SP: 33/1, Trainer: Frau Steinberg, Jockey: Rene Piechulek
  • 11. Titleholder – SP: 9/1, Trainer: Toru Korita, Jockey: Kazuo Yokoyama
  • 12. Bubble Gift – SP: 55/1, Trainer: Mikel Delzangles, Jockey: Olivier Peslier
  • 13. Grand Glory – SP: 54/1, Trainer: Gianluca Bietolini, Jockey: Maxime Guyon
  • 14. Alpinista – SP: 33/10F, Trainer: Sir Mark Prescott, Jockey: Luke Morris
  • 15. Vadeni – SP: 78/10, Trainer: Jean-Claude Rouget, Jockey: Christophe Soumillon
  • 16. Al Hakeem – SP: 20/1, Trainer: Jean-Claude Rouget, Jockey: Cristian Demuro
  • 17. Onesto – SP: 11/1, Trainer: Fabrice Chappet, Jockey: Stephane Pasquier
  • 18. Westover – SP: 10/1, Trainer: Ralph Beckett, Jockey: Rob Hornby
  • 19. Do Deuce – SP: 24/1, Trainer: Yasuo Tomomichi, Jockey: Yutaka Take
  • 20. Luxembourg – SP: 49/10, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Ryan Moore


All Ran