2000 Guineas 2021: Results, Runners & Prize Money

The powerhouse operations of Godolphin and Ballydoyle each sent three into battle in 2021. Master Of The Seas, Naval Crown, and One Ruler lined up for Charlie Appleby and the Boys in Blue, with the first named the shortest in the market, having landed the Craven Stakes over course and distance on his previous start. The Aidan O’Brien trio consisted of Wembley, Battleground, and Van Gogh. Ryan Moore opted for the Galileo colt, Wembley, but it was the mount of Frankie Dettori, Battleground, who was backed into favouritism on the day.

Also prominent in the market were Joseph O’Brien’s Group 1-winning juvenile Thunder Moon and the Charles Hills-trained Mustaabeq, who was taking a big step up in class, but had impressed many when winning a Conditions event at this track. Of those available at bigger prices, Lucky Vega looked interesting on his close second in the Middle Park Stakes, and Poetic Flare arrived on the back of a solid Listed success at Leopardstown.


  • 1st – Poetic Flare 16/1, Jockey: Kevin Manning, Trainer: Jim Bolger
  • 2nd – Master Of The Seas 6/1, Jockey: William Buick, Trainer: Charlie Appleby
  • 3rd – Lucky Vega 12/1, Jockey: Shane Foley, Trainer: Mrs John Harrington

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – £227,018.65
  • 2nd – £86,067.73
  • 3rd – £43,073.89
  • 4th – £21,456.88
  • 5th – £10,768.47
  • 6th – £5,404.25

Tote and Forecast Payouts

  • Tote Win – £16.40
  • Tote Places – 1st – £5.60, 2nd – £2.75, 3rd – £3.55
  • Exacta – £143.50
  • Computer Straight Forecast (CSF) – £103.14
  • Trifecta – £1,778
  • Tricast – £827.17


Naval Crown, Devilwala, and Poetic Flare made a wave of three at the head of affairs when the stalls opened, with Naval Crown ultimately being the one to kick on and make the running. One Ruler and Lucky Vega were amongst those to obtain a nice early position sitting just off the pace. The well-fancied Wembley and Thunder Moon found themselves outpaced towards the back of the field.

Headed into the dip, Master Of The Seas switched to the wide outside to launch his challenge, whilst Lucky Vega and Poetic Flare began to forge past the long-time leader, Naval Crown, up the centre of the track. Lucky Vega gradually gave way inside the final furlong, as Master Of The Seas and Poetic Flare became involved in a pulsating battle to the line. In a real head-bobber, it was Poetic Flare who dipped at the right time to prevail by just a short head from the unfortunate runner-up.

It was the second 2,000 Guineas win for Jim Bolger and Kevin Manning, whose first came when teaming up for the 2013 success of Dawn Approach – sire of a certain Poetic Flare.


  • 1. Albadri – NR
  • 2. Battleground – SP: 9/2F, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Frankie Dettori
  • 3. Chindit – SP: 12/1, Trainer: Richard Hannon, Jockey: Pat Dobbs
  • 4. Devilwala – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Ralph Beckett, Jockey: Rossa Ryan
  • 5. Fly On Earth – SP: 80/1, Trainer: Roger Varian, Jockey: David Egan
  • 6. Lucky Vega – SP: 12/1, Trainer: Mrs John Harrington, Jockey: Shane Foley
  • 7. Master Of The Seas – SP: 6/1, Trainer: Charlie Appleby, Jockey: William Buick
  • 8. Mutasaabeq – SP: 6/1, Trainer: Charles Hills, Jockey: Jim Crowley
  • 9. Mystery Smiles – SP: 66/1, Trainer: Andrew Balding Jockey: Silvestre De Sousa
  • 10. Naval Crown – SP: 50/1, Trainer: Charlie Appleby, Jockey: Adam Kirby
  • 11. One Ruler – SP: 10/1, Trainer: Charlie Appleby, Jockey: James Doyle
  • 12. Poetic Flare – SP: 16/1, Trainer: Jim Bolger, Jockey: Kevin Manning
  • 13. Thunder Moon – SP: 11/2, Trainer: Joseph O’Brien, Jockey: Declan McDonogh
  • 14. Van Gogh – SP: 20/1, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Seamie Heffernan
  • 15. Wembley – SP: 13/2, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Ryan Moore


Albadri (vet’s advice)