Melbourne Cup 2020: Results, Runners & Prize Money

The 2020 edition of the world’s most valuable staying handicap featured a strong overseas contingent, with seven runners hailing from British or Irish yards. Aidan O’Brien sent 2019 Epsom Derby champ Anthony Van Dyke in pursuit of the prize, but it was the second of his runners, the unexposed Tiger Moth, who came in for the most support on the day. His son Joseph O’Brien, meanwhile, was represented by Master Of Reality and the multiple Group-winning stayer, Twilight Payment; whilst Charlie Fellowes had high hopes for Prince Of Arran, who had finished third here in 2018 and a close second in 2019. Willie Mullins ensured the Irish National Hunt yards were also represented by sending his Cesarewitch winner, Stratum, Down Under.

Despite the strong international challenge, the home team still boasted the favourite for the race, with Paul Preusker’s, Surprise Baby, capturing the imagination of the betting public, having flown home for fifth in the 2019 edition. Also going for Australia were the six-time Group 1-winning mare Verry Elleegant, the defending champ Vow And Declare, and the ex-Aidan O’Brien runner, Sir Dragonet, who had lost out by under a length to Anthony Van Dyck in the 2019 Derby.


  • 1st – Twilight Payment 25/1, Jockey: Jye McNeil, Trainer: Joseph O’Brien
  • 2nd – Tiger Moth 11/2, Jockey: Kerrin McEvoy, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien
  • 3rd – Prince Of Arran 17/2, Jockey: Charlie Fellowes, Trainer: Jamie Kah
  • 4th – The Chosen One 40/1, Jockey: Daniel Stackhouse, Trainer: Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman

Prize Money Breakdown

  • 1st – £2,328,042.33
  • 2nd – £582,010.58
  • 3rd – £291,005.29
  • 4th – £185,185.19
  • 5th – £121,693.12
  • 6th – £84,656.08
  • 7th – £84,656.08
  • 8th – £84,656.08
  • 9th – £84,656.08
  • 10th – £84,656.08
  • 11th – £84,656.08
  • 12th – £84,656.08

Tote and Forecast Payouts

  • Tote Win – $23
  • Tote Places – 1st – $6.50, 2nd – $2.40, 3rd – $3.30
  • Exacta – $211.60
  • Trifecta – $1,806


Finch and Vow And Declare broke quickly from their single-figure stalls to take up prominent positions on the rail, but they were soon overtaken by the Irish duo of Tiger Moth and Twilight Payment, with the latter leading the field into the first bend. Surprise Baby and Very Elleegant were amongst those taken off their feet early. Anthony Van Dyck found a nice position just off the pace, whilst Sir Dragonet seemed to be deliberately held up towards the rear.

Into the backstretch, Twilight Payment continued to forge on, finding himself two lengths clear of his nearest pursuer, Finche. The rest of the field became increasingly strung out in behind. Increasing his lead to three lengths in the straight, Finche finally gave way, but a wave of closers began to emerge from out of the pack, led by Tiger Moth and The Chosen One. The gap closed all the way to the line, but the winning post came in time for Twilight Payment, who held on by half a length from Tiger Moth, with Prince Of Arran finishing like an express train to finish placed in the race for the third year in succession. In a sad postscript to the race, Anthony Van Dyck broke down on the final bend and could not be saved.

A big step up from Twilight Payment, who had finished 11th in 2019, and was the beneficiary of an extremely well-judged ride from race debutant Jye McNeil. A famous 1-2 for the O’Briens, and a 1-2-3 for the British and Irish runners.


  • 1. Anthony Van Dyck – SP: 9/1, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Hugh Bowman
  • 2. Avilius – SP: 60/1, Trainer: James Cummings, Jockey: John Allen
  • 3. Vow And Declare – SP: 60/1, Trainer: Danny O’Brien, Jockey: Jamie Mott
  • 4. Master Of Reality – SP: 18/1, Trainer: Joseph O’Brien, Jockey: JBen Melham
  • 5. Sir Dragonet – SP: 11/1, Trainer: Ciaron Maher & David Eustace, Jockey: Glen Boss
  • 6. Twilight Payment – SP: 25/1, Trainer: Joseph O’Brien, Jockey: Jye McNeil
  • 7. Verry Elleegant – SP: 9/1, Trainer: Chris Waller, Jockey: Mark Zahra
  • 8. Mustajeer – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Kris Lees, Jockey: Michael Rodd
  • 9. Stratum – SP: 30/1, Trainer: Willie Mullins, Jockey: Jordan Childs
  • 10. Dashing Willoughby – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Andrew Balding, Jockey: Michael Walker
  • 11. Finche – SP: 20/1, Trainer: Chris Waller, Jockey: James McDonald
  • 12. Prince Of Arran – SP: 17/2, Trainer: Charlie Fellowes, Jockey: Jamie Kah
  • 13. Surprise Baby – SP: 5/1F, Trainer: Paul Preusker, Jockey: Craig Williams
  • 14. King Of Leogrance – Non-runner
  • 15. Russian Camelot – SP: 12/1, Trainer: Danny O’Brien, Jockey: Damien Oliver
  • 16. Steel Prince – SP: 30/1, Trainer: Anthony & Sam Freedman, Jockey: William Pike
  • 17. The Chosen One – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman, Jockey: Daniel Stackhouse
  • 18. Ashrun – SP: 25/1, Trainer: Andreas Wohler, Jockey: Declan Bates
  • 19. Warning – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Anthony & Sam Freedman, Jockey: Luke Currie
  • 20. Etah James – SP: 100/1, Trainer: Ciaron Maher & David Eustace, Jockey: Billy Egan
  • 21. Tiger Moth – SP: 11/2, Trainer: Aidan O’Brien, Jockey: Kerrin McEvoy
  • 22. Oceanex – SP: 10/1, Trainer: Mick Price & Michael Kent Jnr., Jockey: Dean Yendall
  • 23. Miami Bound – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Danny O’Brien, Jockey: Daniel Moor
  • 24. Persan – SP: 40/1, Trainer: Ciaron Maher & David Eustace, Jockey: Michael Dee


King Of Leogrance